The Treaty

The Irish Independence Film Collection
Directed by:
Produced by:
British Pathé


1 min 29
Silent with English Intertitles

Filmed on December 1921, in this footage members of Dáil Éireann are seen exiting the doors of the University College Dublin at Earlsfort Terrace (now The National Concert Hall). Some of the deputies include, Count George Noble Plunkett, Kevin O’Higgins, George Gavin Duffy, Arthur Griffith, Éamon de Valera and Michael Collins.

The Treaty, which would replace the Republic as a dominion of the British Commonwealth, was signed on December 6th. De Valera was not happy with the signing of it as he had stipulated that regardless of the outcome the delegates should not be pressured into any agreements and should return to consult with the cabinet and him, their President. After the Treaty was narrowly ratified, de Valera and a large majority of Sinn Féin T.D.s left Dáil Éireann and Arthur Griffith was elected President.