Home GAA Hurling Wexford v Tipperary – 1968 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Wexford v Tipperary – 1968 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

The GAA Collection
Directed by:
The National Film Institute
Produced by:
The National Film Institute


9 mins

An Taoiseach Jack Lynch, The President of Ireland Éamon de Valera, and the GAA president Seámus Ryan were amongst the dignitaries to watch the game, which was a repeat of the 1965 All-Ireland final. This was a tough and uncompromising game with both teams trading points early on, however Tipperary (led by Mick Roche) started pulling away and posted a substantial lead until a Wexford goal brought the lead down to a half-time deficit of eight points.

In the second half, the Wexford team (led by Dan Quigley) started to make inroads in that lead, with a spectacular goal from Tony Doran playing in his first All-Ireland final and with another goal from him, Wexford eventually drew level. Tipperary continued to attack, but a turnover and quick long ball to Jack Berry in the Wexford forward line scored another goal. After having been down 10 points in the first half, Wexford had turned things around and led Tipperary by eight points nearing the end of the game. Two goals at the end lent respectability to the score line for Tipperary. Seámus Ryan presented the Liam McCarthy Cup to Dan Quigley.

The GAA Collection is available on the IFI Player and suite of apps for a limited time only.

The DVD boxsets can be purchased from the IFI Film Shop.