Home GAA Hurling Tipperary v Wexford – 1965 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Tipperary v Wexford – 1965 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

The GAA Collection
Directed by:
The National Film Institute
Produced by:
The National Film Institute


11 mins

Tipperary, the dominant team of the era, arrived in the final having beaten Clare and Cork in the Munster Championship, with Wexford unexpectedly reaching the final having triumphed over Laois and Kilkenny. This was the third time since 1960 that the teams had met in the final. Seán Ó Siocháin, newly appointed General Secretary of the GAA, An Taoiseach Seán Lemass, and Éamon de Valera the President of Ireland, were in attendance. Tipperary dominated the match from the start, beginning with captain Jimmy Doyle scoring a point from a free. Tipperary then led by seven points following a Seán McLoughlin goal, and it could have been more it if wasn’t for a fine save from Wexford goalkeeper Pat Nolan.  Wexford was led by Tom Neville.

At half-time Tipperary led by 2-5 to 0-6. However, in the second half Wexford put up a spirited performance that was not reflected on the score board. Tipperary continued to impress in the second half including a stunning point scored from a sideline by Theo English. Tipperary won the game by 12 points. Full back on the Tipperary team, one of the all-time great hurlers, John Doyle, won his eighth medal equalling Cork’s Christy Ring’s record.

The GAA Collection is available on the IFI Player and suite of apps for a limited time only.

The DVD boxsets can be purchased from the IFI Film Shop.