Home GAA Hurling Tipperary v Kilkenny – 1964 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Tipperary v Kilkenny – 1964 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

The GAA Collection
Directed by:
The National Film Institute
Produced by:
The National Film Institute


10 mins

The Minors of Cork and Laois appeared in their final, with Laois having surprised both Kilkenny and Dublin to gain their place. Ultimately Cork were unassailable and won by a considerable margin. An Taoiseach Seán Lemass was in attendance, along with Seán Ó Síocháin, who was the newly appointed President of the GAA.

In the Senior game, the current champions were Kilkenny (led by Seán Buckley) who had earned their place in the final by posting a large score over Dublin in the Leinster final. Tipperary (captained by Michael Murphy) had dominated Munster over the previous number of years and they also eased their way past Cork by twelve points in the Munster final. As fierce rivals, Kilkenny had not beaten Tipperary since 1922 and their younger side was hoping to break this cycle. From the start, Tipperary went on the attack and soon raced into a five-point lead with a goal from Mattie McKenna and ultimately led at the halfway stage by a score of 1-8 to 0-6. In the second half, Tipperary went on the rampage and Donie Nealon scored three goals. Kilkenny found it nearly impossible to penetrate the fortress defence that included the uncompromising John Doyle. A goal from Tom Walsh brought some respectability to the score line, but in the end Tipperary were winners by 14 points, and the Liam McCarthy Cup was presented to Michael Murphy.

The GAA Collection is available on the IFI Player and suite of apps for a limited time only.

The DVD boxsets can be purchased from the IFI Film Shop.