Home GAA Hurling Tipperary v Dublin – 1961 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Tipperary v Dublin – 1961 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

The GAA Collection
Directed by:
The National Film Institute
Produced by:
The National Film Institute


10 mins

The President of Ireland Éamon de Valera and An Taoiseach Seán Lemass were amongst the dignitaries to attend the day’s finals, with the minors of Kilkenny and Tipperary providing the curtain raiser of the day, with Kilkenny coming away as champions. The Senior final is notable as being the last occasion Dublin appeared in an All-Ireland hurling final and would be their seventh attempt to become champions since 1938. They arrived in the final having scored a large victory over the current All-Ireland champions Wexford in the Leinster final. Tipperary were returning after their heavy defeat by Wexford the previous year. With experience playing in previous finals, the star-studded Tipperary team were expected to win.

Tipperary (captained by Matt Hassett) started strongly with points from John McKenna and Jimmy Doyle and were three points up before Dublin (led by Noel Drumgoole) posted their first score, a point by Billy Jackson. Tipperary had a goal disallowed early but soon led by four points. The second half was a tightly contested battle – with Dublin’s Billy Jackson scoring a goal and soon, with a couple of points, Dublin would lead Tipperary by a point. Dublin had Lar Foley sent off, but this incident was not filmed. Eventually, Jimmy Doyle scored a fifty-yard free and opened up a two-point lead for Tipperary near the end of the game. Achill Boothman scored a point to reduce the deficit to one, but that was the final score of the match. In goal for Dublin was the current Dublin GAA president Jimmy Gray, who kept a clean sheet.

The GAA Collection is available on the IFI Player and suite of apps for a limited time only.

The DVD boxsets can be purchased from the IFI Film Shop.