Home GAA Football Kerry v Galway – 1959 GAA All-Ireland Football Final

Kerry v Galway – 1959 GAA All-Ireland Football Final

The GAA Collection
Directed by:
The National Film Institute
Produced by:
The National Film Institute


10 mins

The 1959 final attracted another huge crowd of almost 86,000 to Croke Park. This final is sometimes referred to as the ‘Seán Murphy final’ due to the outstanding display on the day by Kerry’s right half back. Despite the presence of legendary Kerry captain Mick O’Connell, Galway controlled midfield for long periods, with Mattie McDonagh and Frank Evers in fine form. However, a formidable Kerry half back line, led by Murphy and also including Kevin Coffey and Mick O’Dwyer, blocked most Galway attacks. Frankie Stockwell and captain Seán Purcell were Galway’s main threat again, but Kerry ultimately won the game by the considerable margin of 3-7 to 1-4, with the county’s Tadhgie Lyne, John Dowling and Dan McAuliffe all featured scoring here. Also included here is footage of the Minor final between Cavan and a Dublin team that won its fifth title in six years.

The GAA Collection is available on the IFI Player and suite of apps for a limited time only.

The DVD boxsets can be purchased from the IFI Film Shop.