Home GAA Football Dublin v Derry – 1958 GAA All-Ireland Football Final

Dublin v Derry – 1958 GAA All-Ireland Football Final

The GAA Collection
Directed by:
The National Film Institute
Produced by:
The National Film Institute


12 mins

This game marked the arrival of colour filming as well as Derry’s first appearance in a Senior final. They met a strong Dublin team that benefited from the wind in the first half and ran up a four-point lead, thanks particularly to the efforts (and scores) of their captain Kevin Heffernan and Ollie Freeney. Derry was captained by midfielder Jim McKeever, winner of the inaugural Texaco Footballer of the Year Award for his outstanding displays during the championship. Other prominent Derry players were forwards Sean O’Connell and Owen Gribben, who helped level the game in the second half. However, Dublin hit back with two goals from Paddy Farnan and Johnny Joyce to eventually win by 2-11 to 1-9. Also included in the package is footage of the Minor encounter between Dublin and Mayo along with wonderful scenes from the build-up to the game with Dublin supporters processing to the stadium behind a horse-drawn carriage.

The GAA Collection is available on the IFI Player and suite of apps for a limited time only.

The DVD boxsets can be purchased from the IFI Film Shop.