Home GAA Football Kerry v Armagh – 1953 GAA All-Ireland Football Final

Kerry v Armagh – 1953 GAA All-Ireland Football Final

The GAA Collection
Directed by:
The National Film Institute
Produced by:
The National Film Institute


10 mins

This final attracted a new record attendance of over 86,000, with some permitted onto the pitch prior to the game to relieve the overcrowding. Though Armagh was in its first final, the game was far from one-sided and the Orchard County may well have won but for a missed penalty by Bill McCorry in the second half. Armagh was captained by Sean Quinn in a formidable defence that also included their superb keeper, Eamon McMahon. McMahon became the first goalie to go through the entire championship without conceding a goal and he was later signed by Celtic Football Club. For Kerry, Jim Brosnan, Tom Ash, Tadhgie Lyne and captain Jas Murphy also feature prominently. Also included here is footage from the Minor final between Mayo and a Clare team, appearing in the county’s second Minor football final.

The GAA Collection is available on the IFI Player and suite of apps for a limited time only.

The DVD boxsets can be purchased from the IFI Film Shop.