Home GAA Hurling

GAA Hurling

Waterford v Kilkenny – 1959 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

This is the only final in this collection that went to a replay and also the first appearance of colour in the filming of All-Ireland hurling finals, a factor that improved their coverage significantly. Frank Ryan once again commentates, with Vincent Corcoran on camera. In the first game, Waterford set the pace and had considerably more scores […]

Kilkenny v Waterford – 1963 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

In the senior championship, Kilkenny arrived in the All-Ireland final having defeated Dublin in the Leinster final by seven points whereas Waterford defeated the favorites Tipperary to earn their place, the last time they would be involved until 2008. Amongst the dignitaries to attend the match were Prince Rainier and Princess Grace of Monaco, along with Taoiseach Seán […]

Tipperary v Kilkenny – 1964 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

The Minors of Cork and Laois appeared in their final, with Laois having surprised both Kilkenny and Dublin to gain their place. Ultimately Cork were unassailable and won by a considerable margin. An Taoiseach Seán Lemass was in attendance, along with Seán Ó Síocháin, who was the newly appointed President of the GAA. In the […]

Tipperary v Wexford – 1965 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Tipperary, the dominant team of the era, arrived in the final having beaten Clare and Cork in the Munster Championship, with Wexford unexpectedly reaching the final having triumphed over Laois and Kilkenny. This was the third time since 1960 that the teams had met in the final. Seán Ó Siocháin, newly appointed General Secretary of […]

Cork v Kilkenny – 1966 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Cork arrived at the final after a ten-year wait, having made their way past Clare in a replay, and then Limerick and Waterford. Kilkenny easily overcame Offaly and Wexford to reach the final. Cork were a young and inexperienced team (most of their players had never played in Croke Park before) and were the underdogs […]

Kilkenny v Tipperary – 1967 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Old rivals, Tipperary and Kilkenny went into this final with Kilkenny looking to post their first victory over Tipperary since 1922. Kilkenny were the younger team, whilst the legendary Tipperary team had many years’ experience under their belt with some star players coming to the end of their playing days. The President of Ireland Éamon […]

Wexford v Tipperary – 1968 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

An Taoiseach Jack Lynch, The President of Ireland Éamon de Valera, and the GAA president Seámus Ryan were amongst the dignitaries to watch the game, which was a repeat of the 1965 All-Ireland final. This was a tough and uncompromising game with both teams trading points early on, however Tipperary (led by Mick Roche) started […]

Tipperary v Wexford – 1962 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Tipperary and Kilkenny met for the fourth successive year in the Minor final, with Kilkenny completing their third victory in a row. For the Senior match, Tipperary (captained by legend Jimmy Doyle) were looking to avenge their shock defeat when they last met Wexford (led in 1962 by Billy Rackard) in the 1960 All-Ireland. Dignitaries […]

Tipperary v Dublin – 1961 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

The President of Ireland Éamon de Valera and An Taoiseach Seán Lemass were amongst the dignitaries to attend the day’s finals, with the minors of Kilkenny and Tipperary providing the curtain raiser of the day, with Kilkenny coming away as champions. The Senior final is notable as being the last occasion Dublin appeared in an All-Ireland hurling final and would be […]

Wexford v Tipperary – 1960 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

The finals took place with a mammoth turnout of 67,154 including the President of Ireland Éamon de Valera, An Taoiseach Seán Lemass, Jack Lynch T.D. Minister for Industry and Commerce, and Dr. Morris, patron of the GAA and the Archbishop of Cashel and Emly. Tipperary (led by Tony Wall) arrived to the finals with a […]

Tipperary v Galway – 1958 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Whether because Galway got a bye to this final (something never repeated) or that Tipperary had already beaten the reigning champions Kilkenny in a superb semi-final, the 1958 final attracted less interest than previous encounters and one of the lowest attendances since the early 1940s, at 47,270. Tipperary stamped their authority on proceedings early on […]

Wexford v Cork – 1956 GAA All-Ireland Hurling Final

Wexford returned in 1956 to retain their title. This was a final, as the credits indicate, unusually held on the fourth rather than first Sunday in September due to an outbreak of polio that led to its postponement. The commentary here is by an uncredited Frank Ryan. Robert Monks was joined on camera by Vincent […]